SMHS staff recognised for excellence

Two men and two women stand in front of a banner that reads South Metropolitan Health Service Awards. One of the women holds a certificate and an award trophy.
BD sponsor representative David Zilm, acting SMHS Board Chair Adjunct Assoc. Prof. Robyn Collins, award winner Sharon Rowe and SMHS Chief Executive Paul Forden
April 11, 2019

We are proud to congratulate the winners of the inaugural South Metropolitan Health Service (SMHS) Excellence Awards, announced last night at a cocktail event attended by nearly 200 guests.

Our high-achieving staff across SMHS were recognised for their commitment to excellent clinical care, great patient experience, engaging the workforce and strong community partnerships and innovation.

SMHS Chief Executive Paul Forden said he was continually impressed by teams and individuals on a daily basis.

“There are countless examples of staff demonstrating exceptional care and exemplifying our values of Care, Integrity, Respect, Excellence and Teamwork each and every day,” Mr Forden said.

“Our strength is built on our staff’s hard work and dedication, so it’s important we celebrate team achievements and recognise outstanding individuals.”

Congratulations to our 2019 SMHS Excellence Award winners:

  • Excellence in Clinical Care – Multidisciplinary Diabetic Foot Ulcer Team, Fiona Stanley Hospital
  • Excellence in Improving the Patient Experience – Rapid Access Neck Lump Clinic, Fiona Stanley Hospital
  • Excellence in Developing and Engaging our Staff/Team – Survivor Education Program, Fiona Stanley Hospital
  • Excellence in Strengthening Partnerships – Emergency Department Consumer Advisory Group, Fiona Stanley Hospital
  • Excellence in Innovation – Rapid Access for Patient’s Imminent Delivery Project, Rockingham General Hospital

The Rapid Access Neck Lump Clinic was also awarded the Southern Star Award, which is given to the overall winner of the team categories.

  • Volunteer of the Year – Elaine Ashurst, Fremantle Hospital
  • Researcher of the Year – Dr Dayse Tavora-Vieira, Fiona Stanley Hospital
  • Chief Executive’s Commitment to Excellence – Joanne Hughes, Rockingham General Hospital
  • SMHS Board Award – Sharon Rowe, Fiona Stanley Hospital

Read the winners' profiles and see all finalists (external site).

Special thank you to our generous sponsors, including our special partners Serco and Spinnaker Health Research Foundation, gold sponsors Allscripts, BD, Paywise, silver sponsor HESTA and bronze sponsor Roche.

Follow South Metropolitan Health Service on Facebook (external site) and keep up to date with all the latest news at Fiona Stanley Hospital.