Researchers get a helping hand thanks to Spinnaker

A group of male and female researchers wearing white lab coats standing outside
2018 recipients of the Spinnaker Health Research Foundation’s annual grants program
December 8, 2017

South Metropolitan Health Service (SMHS) researchers will share in $360,000 worth of grants and scholarships to pursue innovative medical research, helping improve the health of the south metropolitan community.

Awarded as part of the annual grants program for the Spinnaker Health Research Foundation (external site), the grants will support a diverse range of projects in areas such as heart failure, cancer, diabetes, postnatal depression and burns.

Among the SMHS winners was FSH Clinical Psychologist Dr Melanie Burkhardt, who received an Edith Hearn Bequest Grant for her work evaluating the effects of behavioural intervention on self-care and psychological wellbeing in adults with complex diabetes.

FSH Exercise Physiology Professional Lead Associate Professor Andrew Maiorana received a Spinnaker Grant for his team’s work in determining why exercise intolerance in chronic heart failure patients is so severe and improving quality of life for these patients.

Also awarded was FSH Senior Physiotherapist Associate Professor Dale Edgar and his team who are looking at the effect of individualised prehabilitation exercise programs on recovery time and outcomes for patients undergoing scar surgery.

Foundation Chairman Mark Balfour acknowledged the support of SMHS, saying a shared vision was vital in advancing local medical research.

“Collaboration with SMHS hospitals has been integral to our success in fostering a prolific research culture in the south metropolitan area,” Mark said.

“We are indebted for the support and strong common vision shared by SMHS A/Chief Executive Paul Forden and FSFHG A/Executive Director Janet Zagari.”

The Foundation has awarded more than 235 health research projects over the past 21 years, investing well over $3 million in medical research grants, PhD scholarships and research equipment.

2018 Spinnaker Grants

  • Dr Andrew Laycock
  • A/Prof Andrew Maiorana
  • Dr Benjamin Dessauvagie
  • A/Prof Dale Edgar
  • Dr Edward Raby
  • Dr Hilary Martin
  • Dr Jully Gogoi Tiwari
  • Karen Redhead
  • Dr Laurens Manning
  • Dr Shereen Paramalingam
2017-18 Barry Marshall Travel Award
  • Dr Lokesh Yagnik
2018-19 Edith Hearn Bequest Grants
  • Jocelyn Drinkwater
  • Dr Melanie Burkhardt
2017 PhD Scholarships
  • Karen Redhead
  • Jocelyn Drinkwater