Finalists announced for inaugural SMHS Excellence Awards

Logo reads South metropolitan Health Service Excellence Awards 2019
March 8, 2019

South Metropolitan Health Service (SMHS) has announced the finalists for the inaugural SMHS Excellence Awards to be held 10 April 2019.

The SMHS Excellence Awards aim to celebrate the high achieving healthcare teams and health professionals who exemplify the SMHS values of Care, Integrity, Respect, Excellence and Teamwork in their service each and every day.

The awards will recognise the outstanding contributions of staff across a range of categories which align with the SMHS strategic priorities of excellent clinical care, great patient experiences, an engaged workforce, strong community partnerships and innovation.

Congratulations to the finalists in the team categories:

Excellence in Clinical Care

  • Dialectic Behaviour Therapy Team, Mental Health Unit - Fremantle Hospital (FH)
  • Multidisciplinary Diabetic Foot Ulcer Team - Fiona Stanley Hospital (FSH)
  • Tracheostomy Service - FSH

Excellence in Improving the Patient Experience

  • Cognitive Impairment Project - Fiona Stanley Fremantle Hospitals Group (FSFHG)
  • Mimidi Park Mental Health Inpatient Unit - Rockingham Peel Group (RkPG)
  • Rapid Access Neck Lump Clinic, Ear, Nose and Throat Service - FSH

Excellence in Developing and Engaging our Staff/Team

  • Emergency Department Simulation Team - FSH
  • PACU Hand Hygiene Project - FSH
  • Survivor Education Program, Medical Imaging - FSH

Excellence in Strengthening Partnerships

  • Emergency Department Consumer Advisory Group - FSH
  • Fiona Wood Public Lecture Series, Corporate Communications - SMHS
  • Peel and Rockingham Community Response, Community Mental Health  - RkPG

Excellence in Innovation

  • Elective Surgery Waitlist Reduction Strategy - SMHS
  • Falls in Emergency Department and Aged Care Evaluation - FSH
  • Rapid Access for Patient's Imminent Delivery Project, Obstetrics Unit and Operating Theatre Department - Rockingham General Hospital (RGH)

Finalists in the individual award categories are:

Volunteer of the Year

  • Elaine Ashurst - Fremantle Hospital
  • Andrew Maddy - Fiona Stanley Hospital
  • Valerie McIntosh - Fiona Stanley Hospital

Researcher of the Year

  • Professor Dickon Hayne, Head of Urology - South Metropolitan Health Service
  • Dr Helen Keen, Head of Rheumatology - Fiona Stanley Hospital
  • Dr Dayse Távora-Vieira, Head of Audiology - Fiona Stanley Hospital

Chief Executive’s Commitment to Excellence

  • Taryn Fyfe, Chief Pharmacist - Fremantle Hospital
  • Joanne Hughes, Nurse Unit Manager, Aged Care Rehabilitation Unit - Rockingham General Hospital
  • Michael McDonnell, Supervising Medical Imaging Technologist - Fiona Stanley Hospital

Thank you to the generous sponsors for their support of the SMHS Excellence Awards: Serco Asia Pacific, Spinnaker Health and Research Foundation, Allscripts, BD, Paywise, Hesta and Roche.

Follow South Metropolitan Health Service on Facebook (external site) and keep up to date with all the latest news at Fiona Stanley Hospital.